

Irish Chess Union International Selection Committee Selection Report - 17th May 2012

IRISH CHESS UNION INTERNATIONAL SELECTION COMMITTEE

SELECTION REPORT – 17[™] MAY 2012

The ICU International Selections Committee (ISC) for the 2011-12 period comprises Shannon Clements (Chairperson), Seamus Duffy, John Joyce, John Loughran, Gerry O'Connell and Darko Polimac.

At the request of the ICU Executive an early selection process for the Glorney Cup, Jessica Gilbert Memorial Cup, John Robertson Cup and Bernadette Stokes Cup set of events was required, as the Executive needed to submit names to the organisers before the end of May. The events will be held in Daventry, Northamptonshire, UK from the 17th to 21st July, and comprise the following sections:

- Glorney Cup
 - team of 5 players under 18 years of age
 team of 3 girls under 18 years of age
- Jessie Gilbert CupBernadette Stokes Cup
- team of 6 players under 14 years of age
- John Robinson Cup
- team of 6 players under 12 years of age

The earliest possible that this could be made was to use the provisional ratings list published on the ICU website as published at http://ratings.icu.ie/ ('Top Juniors' Table) on the 15th May 2012.

This selections report was prepared by the ISC Chairperson following set guidelines, with eligibility criteria such as the number of games played in the last 2 years and whether these had included participation in either of the Irish Junior or Senior Championships. Games data has been provided by the ICU Ratings Officer. Once eligible candidates were selected the number of positions on offer for each team was filled by working down the list in order of rating strength. As for previous years, preference has been given to selecting the strongest Glorney team and keeping players within their age category for the remaining three teams. The following reference documents are also available from the ICU website (www.icu.ie):

- <u>Terms of Reference for the Selection Committee</u>
- Eligibility Criteria
- Junior Eligibility Criteria

This report was circulated in draft format to the ISC members for review and discussion, prior to submission to the ICU Executive for ratification. Due to the time limitations it was not possible to convene a meeting.

All selected candidates and those on substitute lists are advised to notify the ICU Junior Officer as soon as possible whether they are available to participate. Travel, accommodation and expense arrangements can be obtained from the ICU Executive.

Any queries arising in relation to the selections contained in this report, should be directed to the ISC Chairperson at <u>selections@icu.ie</u> and copied to the ICU Chairperson at chairperson@icu.ie.

Const

Shannon Clements Chairperson, ICU Selection Committee 17th May, 2012



Irish Chess Union International Selection Committee Selection Report - 17th May 2012



INTERNATIONAL SELECTIONS

Glorney Cup	<u>Selection</u> Team	Place No.1 No.2 No.3 No.4 No.5	<u>Player</u> Kieran O'Riordan Conor E. O'Donnell Hugh Doyle Ronan Magee John Courtney	Rating 2026 1946 1919 1908 1848	 <u>Notes:</u> As John A. Cormican improved by 327 points in the last year compared to -58 points by Aravind Jayadev Menon, and the
	Substitute	No.1 No.2 No.3	Oissine Murphy John A. Cormican Aravind Jayadev Menon	1834 1811 1811	former has played more games he has therefore been selected above the latter, both having the same ratings.

<u>Jessica</u> <u>Gilbert</u>	<u>Selection</u> Team	Place No.1 No.2	<u>Player</u> Ruth E. Cormican Diana Mirza	Rating 1425 1394	
<u>Memorial</u>		No.3	Sarah Jane Hearne	1378	
<u>Cup</u>	Substitute	No.1 No.2	Catherine Hearne Agnieszka Pozniak	1173 1164	

John	Selection	Place	Player	Rating	<u>Notes:</u>
Deherteen	Team	No.1	Eoin Minnock	1677	•
Robertson		No.2	Geoffrey Keating	1450	•
Cun		No.3	Rory Ellard	1360	
<u>Cup</u>		No.4	Scott Mulligan	1212	
		No.5	Peter Cooke	1189	
		No.6	Catherine Hearne	1173	
	Substitute	No.1	Cian Guinan	1160	
		No.2	Odhran McDonnell	1082	

Bernadette	Selection	Place	<u>Player</u>	Rating	<u>Notes:</u>
	Team	No.1	Padraig Hughes	1394	_
Stokes Cup		No.2	Tom McGrath	1145	•
		No.3	Michael Higgins	1121	
		No.4	Jeffrey Alfred	1057	
		No.5	Ross Beatty	1045	
		No.6	Fiachra Scallan	1027	
	Substitute	No.1	Jim O'Reilly	961	
		No.2	Mihailo Manojlovic	932	
		No.3	Eibhia Ni Mhuireagain	866	